Recognising ophthalmology leaders
L-R: Profs Helen Danesh-Meyer, Charles McGhee and Dr Ben LaHood

Recognising ophthalmology leaders

June 1, 2024 Staff reporters

Three New Zealand ophthalmologists, Professors Charles McGhee and Helen Danesh-Meyer and Dr Ben LaHood, have been recognised once again in The Ophthalmologist’s annual Power List of the world’s top 100 industry leaders, with Prof McGhee ranked eighth overall.


Others who’ve featured in NZ Optics were also recognised for their outstanding contributions to the field, including Professor Stephanie Watson, head of Australia’s Save Sight Institute’s Corneal Research Group; Dr David Lockington, Tennent Institute of Ophthalmology, Glasgow; Professor Robyn Guymer, deputy director of the Centre for Eye Research Australia; and Dr Soosan Jacob, who leads the Corneal Research Group at the University of Sydney and the Corneal Unit at Sydney Eye Hospital.


Commenting on the future of the profession, Prof McGhee told The Ophthalmologist he expects a combination of ocular imaging and AI analysis will replace many of the more common aspects of clinical ophthalmology within five years. “And I fully expect robotic surgery will replace the cataract surgeon within a decade.”